History of the quarter
A number of houses dating back to the Middle Ages make the Quai des Tanneurs one of the oldest districts in the town. These are typical of the tanner's profession. The watercourse, which used to run down the middle of the street and was used for tanning hides, was filled in at the beginning of the 20th century for health reasons.
It was in this canal, which ran through the tanners' quarter, that the corroyeurs* washed their hides before tanning. In 1851, the ditch was channelled by two stone walls, creating two quays on either side, linked by several footbridges.
The Gerberbach is the final section of the Châtenois canal (also known as the Stadtbach) before it flows into the Ill. Its name varied as it passed through the town: Schlangbach, Predigerbach and finally Gerberbach, which means ‘tanners' ditch’. Today, you will notice that the canal is no longer visible. It was covered over in 1912, mainly to make the district healthier.
Characteristic tanners' houses
The tanner practised his trade in his own home. It is therefore entirely typical of the needs associated with the trade. The narrow, high gable and sloping roof are typical of tanners' houses. Before being turned into leather, the hides were washed, scraped and tanned several times in baths.
The top floor was therefore deliberately quite high, with an opening to allow the hides to be hung up to dry.
What is a timber-framed house ?
More commonly known as a half-timbered house, a timber-framed house is made up of a wooden framework designed as a set of joints.
The pieces of wood fit together and play a structural role in the house. To ensure stability, the elements of the timber frame are not arranged randomly.
The balance of the whole is ensured by vertical (posts), horizontal (runners, spacers, lintels, etc.) and oblique bracing (gusset plates, gusset plates, reliefs, etc.).
The space between the timbers, known as the hourdis, is filled with cob, rubble stone or brick, depending on the region and the period.
In Sélestat, as in other Alsatian towns, timber-framed houses are built on a masonry ground floor, whereas in rural areas they are supported by a simple flashing. Referred to as Fachwerk (specialised work) in German and Alsatian, the construction of timber-framed houses was entrusted to a professional who mastered this particular technique, namely the carpenter.
By marking the pieces of wood, the carpenter could easily reassemble the timber sections in their final position. Other trades were also involved in the construction (masons, roofers, stove builders, joiners, glaziers, etc.).
In Sélestat, you can see these half-timbered houses classified into three main families :
- Middle Ages (late 13th-15th centuries),
- Rhenish Renaissance (15th-17th centuries)
- 18th century.